Although this blog is about Gator sports, when I came across this article, I had to show you guys. Apparently WWE wrestlers have now been linked to the steroid scnadal....IM SHOCKED! :) When a Sports Illustrated writer asks a spokesman about their policy he said:
Gary Davis, a WWE spokesman, pointed us to a Talent Wellness Program instituted in February 2006. As to whether anabolic steroids and HGH are banned, Davis sent us an email quoting the policy: "The WWE policy prohibits the use of performance-enhancing drugs, as well as other prescription drugs which can be abused, if taken for other than a legitimate medical purpose pursuant to a valid prescription from a licensed and treating physician. For purposes of WWE's policy, prescriptions obtained over the Internet and/or from suppliers of prescription drugs from the Internet are not considered to have been given for a legitimate medical purpose."
Ok, seriously....did anybody ever see some of those wrestlers? I bet more than half of them are on steroids. The only reason nobody has cared for so long is because it is good for the sport. More muscular wrestlers mean bigger and better crowds because people like to see these "beasts". Can you imagine if Grant and I got in the ring? I think the arena would be empty before I even pinned him in 30 seconds. This just leads me to my point of the blog. When it benefits the sport, governing bodies turn their head the other way.
In 1998 during the home run chase, there was the same steroid problem that we see today. The difference was that baseball needed Big Mac and Sammy to revive the sport. Once the fans were back in their seats and back into the retail stores, they didnt care whether or not they busted these guys. The funny thing to me is that this has become such a ridiculous story that it is now gonna turn people off to the sport. I for one wanna throw my tv through the window when a steroids story comes on SportsCenter.
Whether or not people care about steroids also depends on the popular sports in our country. There would be about 7 people who cared if the whole MLS was on steroids so they healed quicker after games.
Here is the article I was looking at... http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2007/more/03/19/wrestlers/index.html
Has anybdoy seen CJ lately...that guy might be on steroids! :)
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
3 comments:
First off...I would pay to see you and Grant in the ring...that would probably be the most entertaining thing I have seen in awhile.
It is quite obvious that most WWE wrestlers are on steroids. They also oil themselves up right after getting out of the tanning bed. It is amazing to me that the professional wrestling league has lasted this long. If people can gamble and buy drugs online, then people can sure buy anabolic steroids.
I would also like to throw my tv through the window when the topic of steroids comes up either on Sportscenter or in the classroom. It makes for a great paper topic because of all the information on it, but I feel as if we have discussed it so much in the recent years that it has become such dead subject. People do illegal things all of the time and cheat all of the time. It's just the world we live in.
Contrary to popular belief, I have not knowingly used anabolic steroids. Clear, maybe, needles....never.
Yeah, I am about as shocked as you are that the steroid scandal has moved from the Tour de France and MLB to entertainment wrestling. Those guys, and girls, are insanely big. Sam mentioned that she was surprised that WWE is still around, but I am not. The WWE is an entertainment giant, and its marketing pursuits are instant moneymakers. It's not going anywhere. There's way too much money to be made. And this might be the reason why these guys in fact are juicing up, to give a better quality product to the viewing audience. Every wrestling persona is also viewed as an icon or hero, so this may be another reason why these guys feel the need (or are pressured) to use steroids, so that they can appear to be super human. I'm just surprised they don't test for steroids in the WWE. Wait a minute, they JUST started testing in MLB....they'll probably start in another 15-20 years.
100%. I would be willing to bet that 100% of those actors we refer to as "professional wrestlers" are on steroids.
I can think of few things that I would rather do less than wrestle Pick. 6'5" and 190 lbs. isn't exactly the prototypical wrestler frame.
I agree with Sam that the steroids subject has become annoying, but for a slightly different reason. It's not just an oversaturation, it's an oversaturation of opinions and heresay and very few minor breakthroughs. If during this whole time, we were busting big stars and leagues, I'd be glued to my TV (unless Sam had already thrown it out a window). Give me some proof that Bud Selig knows that 65% of MLB is on 'roids and he's been turning a blind eye and I'll forget to eat or sleep. But if keep hearing the word "alledgedly" in front of everything the talking heads say, or that Barry Bonds says he didn't "knowingly" take the cream and the clear (AND WE BELIEVE HIM), my head is gonna explode.
Post a Comment